We are an interest group delving in to the culture of the Vikings and Slavs of the early Middle Ages, between the 9th and 10th Centuries. Our common purpose is to understand life in days of yore.

Our portrayal is oriented to the Nordic-influenced areas of Scandinavia.  This includes various settlement areas of Denmark, such as the then trading city of “Heddeby” near Schleswig, today in Germany, as well as the Slavic tribes who settled up-river on the Elbe. We consciously decided on a healthy mix between the cultures of the Vikings and Slavs in this epoch. 

In our portrayal we rely on current archaeological findings, contemporary literature and specialist publications, such as archaeological excavations reports. Following on from these reports and findings, we refine our portrayal, although there is always a certain leeway for interpretations.

Alongside the joint work on the reconstruction of a likely authentic historical portrayal, we endeavour to rediscover and revive the old handicrafts of the Vikings and Slavs. History, that comes alive, and moreover current knowledge are communicated by us during historical events and in museums.

• Startseite
Wir sind eine Interessensgemeinschaft, die sich mit der Kultur der Wikinger und Slawen des frühen Mittelalters, zwischen dem 9 und 10 Jhd. befasst. Dabei ist es unser gemeinsames Ziel das Leben in jener Zeit nachzuempfinden.
sippenbild neu
Unsere Darstellung orientiert sich dabei an den nordisch beeinflussten Gebieten Skandinaviens. Dazu gehören etliche Siedlungsgebiete Dänemarks, wie auch die damalige Handelsstadt Haithabu (b. Schleswig im heutigen Deutschland) sowie die elbaufwärts angesiedelte Slawenstämme.

In unserer Darstellung stützen wir uns auf aktuelle archäologische Erkenntnisse, zeitgenössische Literatur und Fachpublikationen, wie z.B. Ausgrabungsberichte. Im Zuge dieser Recherche verfeinern wir stetig unsere Darstellung, wobei allerdings immer ein gewisser Interpretationsspielraum bleibt.

Neben der gemeinsamen Arbeit an der Rekonstruktion einer möglichst realistischen musealen Darstellung bemühen wir uns, die alten Handwerkskünste der Wikinger und Slawen wiederzuentdecken und aufleben zu lassen. Geschichte, die lebendig wird und das aktuelle Wissen darüber vermitteln wir auf historischen Veranstaltungen und in Museen.

DruckenE-Mail